Meet our Board of Directors

Meet our Board of Directors

Attention: open in a new window. Print


Meet the Directors at Tonga Development Bank.

Contact Us

Mr Paula Taumoepeau ACTING CHAIRMAN Was the president of Tonga Chamber of Commerce & Industry. Mr Taumoepeau holds a Master in Business Administration from Massey University, New Zealand; a Bachelor of Economics from University of New England, Armidale, Australia. Mr Taumoepeau worked with the National Reserve Bank of Tonga in various positions and his last post was the Head of Currency Department. He joined Leiola Duty Free in 2005, before joining the Nautilus Minerals Tonga (deep sea mining) in 2008. He resigned from Tonga Country Manager for Nautilus Minerals in 2020. Mr Taumoepeau was a past Board Member of Tonga Water Board and Friendly Island Shipping Agency and currently manages his family business. He has been a Director of the Bank since September 2009
Rev. Obey Samate DIRECTOR Is the current Treasurer of Free Wesleyan Church of Tonga and sits on various Board Committees of the Church. Rev. Samate carries 32 years of banking experience before joining the Church. He joined Bank of Tonga since 1976 which later changed to Westpac Bank of Tonga in 2000. Rev. Samate then became the Senior Relationship Manager (Lending) and retired as an executive team member in 2008. In his banking career, he has successfully managed Branches, Commercial Businesses (Lending) and also taking on relieving roles as Manager Credit. In 2008, he retired as a Banker and was ordained as Church Minister of Free Wesleyan Church of Tonga. He has been a Director since September 2016.
Mrs Meleseini Lomu DIRECTOR Is the current the Chief Executive Officer of National Retirement Benefits Fund Board (NRBF), an appointment she held since the acquisition of NRBF shares in the Bank in 2018. Ms Lomu holds a Master of Economics and a Post Graduate Diploma in Agricultural Economics from the University of New England, Australia; she also holds a Bachelor of Arts from Victoria University, Wellington New Zealand. Ms Lomu was the Financial & Budget Adviser for various Donors before she joined the Ministry of Finance in 1995 and resigned in 2006. Ms Lomu later in 2013 was the Economic and Financial Sector Consultant of the Forum Secretariat. She was also the consultant of the Public Sector Reform in the same year. She has been the director of various Boards in the past including Westpac Bank of Tonga and is a current Board Member of Remuneration Authority.
Mr Kaho ‘Ofa DIRECTOR Is the current Chief Investment Officer of the Retirement Fund Board (RFB) since 2018. Mr ‘Ofa holds a Master of Applied Finance from Victoria University, Wellington, New Zealand; a Bachelor of Arts from the University of the South Pacific, Fiji. He holds a Diploma in Association of Superannuation Fund of Australia (ASFA). Prior to his current post in RFB, had worked with the National Reserve Bank of Tonga in his early years as Economic Research Officer. He joins the Bank as the Director after RFB acquired shares of the Bank in July 2019.

Alternate Directors:

Mr Tevita Tonga                   (appointed as Alternate Director for Meleseini Lomu from the 18th of March 2021)

Company Secretary 

Hasiloni Fungavai COMPANY SECRETARY Is the founder and owner of the Accounting Firm, Fungavai & Associates. He was also the Treasurer of the Tonga Olympic Committee (TASANOC) and the President of the Tonga Table Tennis. Mr Fungavai is a very active sports player and sits in various Tonga Sports Associations. Mr Fungavai holds a Masters in Business Administration and a Degree in Accounting from the University of the South Pacific. Mr Fungavai is the Certified Public Accountant (CPA) member of Tonga Society of Accountants and a member of America Institute of Internal Auditors—Fiji Chapter. He was the former Deputy Managing Director Finance & Corporate Services and then later on renamed to Chief Finance Officer of the Tonga Development Bank and has been with the Bank since 1985. He holds the position of the Company Secretary since 1994



Tonga's Bank